some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

today at second job

June 06, 2004
Tonight they made me work eight hours at Second Job and two of those hours were at my workstation alone. I am very incompetent at my job when I have help but by myself it�s like I�ve been made captain of the Titanic.

So, there I am at work and it is way past my sit on my ass and do nothing time, I�m at work. What made this worth it are the events that happen later at night when I�m usually locked into my house.

There is a homeless man who lives at our Second Job and he spends all his time drinking soda and stinking up the bathroom. I wish Kipp would come here and shoot him or at least give him a bath.

The first thing that happened was a drunk parked in the drive through and fell asleep. The manager went out and told him to park but before he parked he felt like he should drive at the building and then try and hit MY car as if my car hasn�t suffered enough.

I am white trash so I did watch this whole episode instead of working. I then watched the police department arrest him after doing that whole �walk a straight line� deal (I can�t do that sober) and then they towed his car. I�d have hated to be trapped there by his car as he stopped it on my bumper.

Then the entertaining (read: English speaking) coworkers left and it all went to pot. By pot, in many respects I may or may not mean marijuana. Elvira, Mistress of the Dark, came in with her children that looked like adolescent Bill Gates and gave me hope: someone else will spend their whole lives as virgins too. There are the ever present old people half of whom sound like Darth Vader due to the loss of their vocal cords to smoking.

The sun goes down and the freaks come out. The freaks play pinochle on your snout. I swear it�s like something out of a George Orwell or Jules Vern novel. I don�t know if I�m at a fast food hell or a Star Trek convention. It�s just not right.

The cast of Goonies showed up prompting me to go down memory lane with the manager about all the What you talking about Willis memories we had because working really isn�t what we do at Second Job.

10:44 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next