some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I have a suggestion...

May 18, 2004
I love it when people make comments here and say, �you may not care but�� If I didn�t want your comments would I have a comments section?

Which leads in not at all to today�s story.

We�re in the process of accrediting the school with the civil and ecclesiastical authorities that govern us and part of that process is a survey of the parents on the climate of the school. One of the questions, �my opinion is solicited and considered.� One parent responded �strongly disagree� and wrote this long essay about how no one listens to her suggestions because she�s never seen any of them followed through. True enough, we don�t follow a single on of her hair-brained ideas for what we should do at the school with the kids but if you heard her suggestions you�d balk at the ideas too.

My favorite was that I should take the kids in my class skiing at a local snow your own hill. That would be okay if they all knew how to ski or were all at the same skill level or if skiing wasn�t wicked expensive. Let�s then start to talk about liability issues, skiing is unnecessarily dangerous and the propensity of my students to fall on flat, dry land is high � I�m not putting them on skis on the top of a hill and giving them a shove.

There are things you can do with your kid because if something it happens you�re not going to sue you and there things that some people can afford, others cannot.

Beside that just because you have a comment or a suggestion and you hand it out doesn�t mean that someone is going to take it and act on it.

2:57 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next