some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

that was a celebration of life!

February 10, 2004
Today was a strange one on the work front.

The music teacher is someone that I don�t get along with at all. She is part time and only in the building a few days a week so I normally don�t have to deal with her. When she�s here she makes every moment count.

She wants the kids to participate in The World�s Largest Concert, this means for us that we�d need to be wired for cable and have the kids in her class on a non-music day. We�re not yet wired for cable because the school is one hundred years old and the last time everything was renovated it was coated in asbestos. We have to get the asbestos removed and the next time we�re renovated we will. For now we don�t have cable.

Those of you who have been reading for a while know that I am cloistered where I work. I live in the building. A reasonable, professional adult has cable television. This professional adult however is learning to live off of 1/3 of the money he�s used to making on top of no longer living at Mom�s. I don�t have cable, it�s not something I�m ready to put out for and the asbestos is in my walls too.

Well, she wanted me to let her use my apartment so that she could use my cable and watch her show with the kids and then thought it was ridiculous that I said that I didn�t have cable and that even if I did, having the kids up here was inappropriate.

Parents, would you want your kids to go to their teacher�s house without you?

Anyone, would you want someone having thirty kids, grades 2-5, in your house when you weren�t home?

The other strange thing was an offer for my friend Emily�s old job. Which leads me to question everyone I know, �who wrote, �jackass� on my forehead?� I wouldn�t take her job for all the money in the world and she didn�t make much more than I do and her job was a great deal worse than mine is. I miss Emily but I am really glad for her that she no longer has to deal with her job.

Today was, however, better than yesterday.

Hey, check out Mary, my friend from University. She�s a really decent person who is just starting out on Diary Land.

6:47 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next