some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

something wicked this way comes

June 07, 2004

I solemnly swear that I am up to no good�

Today I valiantly led my students and the third grade, into sin. We watched, and enjoyed, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban after eating a late breakfast/early lunch at Mc Donald�s.

It is a beautifully made movie that does not follow the text exactly but takes the spirit of the story and created an exquisite film. It was a beautiful thing to watch and an easy story to follow even if you are not into Potter.

At the Mc Donald�s we went to they were unhappy I dumped a school off on them. There were less than twenty people in our group. It should not have been a problem to feed up but they were certainly rude about it. I should have let my kids act foolish and get all monkey on them but it was before the film � had it been after my gloves would have been off.

At the movie theatre I allowed them to purchase candy, pop corn and soda � something I never do on field trips. In the concession line I decided it was a GOOD idea to flirt with the pop corn girl after she flirted with me. It never happens that I am being flirted with by a girl so I took the opportunity despite having my class in tow. I decided to ask if there had been a lot of strange people in costumes and I could tell by the nervous look on her face that the people behind me were in costume. Some days I shouldn�t leave my cage.

I sat by my Rastafarian look alike and the girl who hits during the movie. Rasta talked through the whole film to the point that I shared my pop corn AND bought him candy to shut him up lest a riot emerge and dumped part of my bag of pop corn, for no reason I can recall, on the girl�s head.

My students enjoyed the movie, laughed, cried and were frightened at times. They got their five dollars worth and it sets up the summer well. A good memory will ride them until they have to return � to me � in September.

What about the people who were unhappy about Harry Potter being in my classroom? They are still angry and while their unhappiness was not the goal of my action it is a welcome icing for our cake.

Professor Lupin was my favorite NEW character and was portrayed better in the movie than in the book. The actor did a good job of conveying the care one would have for a dead friend�s son more than just being a teacher to the boy. I still however wish to grow up and be Professor McGonigal (sp) as she is the most kick ass teacher, ever.

Mischief Managed.

9:44 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next