some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

a lame friday, preparing for a rough sunday

November 22, 2003
I had the lamest Friday night on record.

The Pastor is trying to start a group that gets together one Friday a month to play games as families. I heard a noise downstairs and I wandered down to see what that noise was. It was family game night, but I had a plan, I�d walk across the gym to the school and act like I was getting the grammar primer and then slink back home (read the church bulletin to be aware of events that happen where you live). I got sucked in. I played some rummy-like game that involved tiles and colors. The only Rummy I want in my life works at the Pentagon.

So, I spent my Friday night with the same people I spend all my time with, ten year olds. It�s a good thing I like my class.

Charity Luncheon

Our school is having a charity luncheon on Sunday and we take up half of the floor space in the gym for this event.

Well, we have a loads of old people at our church who think that, beyond their own the progeny, the world is over populated. We purposefully take up only HALF the gym so that the other half is open for the children who�ll show up to play in. There is a certain man whose children and grandchildren are jerks to humanity but he�s concerned only with the kids who are being bad, namely the children who play on their assigned part of the gym.

He rolled up the basketball goal to the ceiling so that the kids couldn�t play ball on their half off the gym during the luncheon. I don�t know why he does this: he�s not involved in the luncheon and isn�t going.

I keep rolling it back down. He keeps rolling it back up. The Principal told me to stop, he�s going to roll it down and �break� it so that it will stay down. The magic of running the building is the knowledge of how to make things work your way and not for others.

I think once people realize that children are our first priority and start treating them accordingly we�ll see results.

This page is fortified with 33% Canadian content so that Spritopias might remain a healthy choice for Greg and all our Canadian friends at peelersplace

11:25 AM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next