some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

nuclear street cred

May 28, 2005
So, they were going to show Michael Jackson�s penis to the poor jurors in his trial, as if the jurors have not suffered enough. Regardless of your opinion of what he may or may not have done, (everyone gets a day in court) I cannot imagine that after hearing the graphic descriptions they have endured that they now want pictures to go along with the descriptions.


Everyone was talking about American Idol in school Thursday and one of the kids said that one of the singers was trying to bring �street cred� to American Idol. In my opinion, your �street cred� is cancelled by going on that program, and coming from someone whose MP3 player has John Williams on an embarrassingly high rotation that is a terrible condemnation. I realize many people like the show and more people vote on those programs than vote in our federal elections and I think that as more of an indictment of them than it is of me. I think going on a reality show, for any reason, ruins your credibility with me on everything except which hair care products are best (thanks, Omarosa!).


I was reading an article on parenting and getting your child into the right kindergarten and it reminded me of something I saw on Connecticut Public Television and later read in an article, but a leading & liberal British nuclear scientist was being interviewed about the problems with storing nuclear waste and the final question was supposed to mock our President, but ended up turning on the commentator. He asked what he thought of our President�s �inability to pronounce� nuclear. The scientist said that both pronunciations were correct, it was rude to point out when someone pronounced something wrong and ironic coming from Americans who pronounce most words incorrectly, and mispronouncing a word did not mean you did not grasp the concepts involved with nuclear public policy.

I also read this book where Andrew Card recounts telling the President that he was pronouncing the word incorrectly and the President responded in using the word �correctly� that he knew.


I am going to do my homework now.

12:19 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next