some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

hook and line (everytime)

May 28, 2005
I am coming to you from Barnes and Noble, where I am online chatting to Trinity. I am at Barnes and Noble because of a security concern at my sister�s store wherein someone is accosted on Saturday Nights when they have to close the store on their own. I am going to hang out with her there later and hopefully scare off some punk kids. For those of you who attended my audience with The Empress know that I am not going to scare anyone off � but perhaps I can keep them busy while she summons the police.

I have to admit I have exposed a new bigotry in myself. I have some issues with Baristas at Starbucks. I equate your competence as a Barista to the amount of piercing, and tattoos found on your body, for a Barista there is never enough! The more you have, the better you are. In fact, I assume that you have no idea what you are doing if you do not have something sticking out of your nose or drawn on your arm � which is funny to me because in any other setting I would want you in longer sleeves and the idea of throwing a pencil through the hole in your earlobe and winning a free latte disgusting. However, here at Starbucks I insist upon it. I did not win a free latte. No, Kipp, I did not make out with the Barrista.

Also, Asiago cheese is the flavor of the month for food trendy types. I am not a food trendy, so I am not on the bandwagon and I do not appreciate smelling it.


I am reading this book for my master�s program and the chapter I am reading right now talks about appreciating the different cultures in your classroom. I am having a hard time with this line of discussion because I come from multiethnic background so, how does one effectively appreciate my culture? I keep things in the context of myself as teacher and myself as learner. Then, I read the stereotype reinforcing comments about cultures in the text and wonder how valid this is?

Essentially, I think much of what we attribute to race in this country is actually socioeconomic. Much of what they are talking about �dominant� and �minority� culture is not so much about �color� �ethnicity� or �creed� in this country but it goes back to the almighty we all worship � the dollar. How has the god of Western culture blessed you? That says so much more about people right now than the color of their skin, where their family hails from or where you park yourself on a Saturday/Sunday morning.


I am peeling, so I am going to get a free sample of something to make me look less disgusting at Aveda.

4:22 PM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next