some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

phantom of the spritopias

May 24, 2005
We had a field trip yesterday to the University of Stepford to watch, The Phantom of the Opera. Call me a philistine but I hated Phantom of the Opera and at one point even lost the �stay awake� battle. The only reason I was able to stay awake for the amount of time that I did was: my urgent need to use the bathroom. That always helps.

It was a condensed version of the production and the sound, costumes, singing, and acting were terrible so perhaps it is not much the story, which was not compelling, that left me wanting to run screaming from the theater.

On the way home from the field trip we passed the Governor�s Mansion and I pointed out to the students that it was where our Governor lived. One of the students asked if it was also the home where Governor Roland, our recently resigned governor, lived when he was governor and I responded that indeed it was. He then asked if Governor Roland still lived in a big house. I said, �Oh boy, does he ever. He lives in the big house � but somewhere in Massachusetts, I think.�

More on Star Wars

I left this comment asking what a Grand Moff, or even just a Moff was in someone�s diary. (it has been edited so I do not look like an idiot for my late night grammar and spelling).


Also, I am embarrassed to (spell that wrong and) inform you that "Moff" was a term for a regional governor in the Galactic Empire under Emperor Palpatine, this belief is validated when Princess Leia Organa addresses him as, "Governor Tarkin." You can tell a Grande Moff from a Venti or even Tall Moff by their graduated levels of foul stench. They try to play this off but it is just like everything else in the "it is perfectly normal, every guy does it, it is nothing to be ashamed of " category.

Someone tried to level �George Lucas went to an excellent film school, you would think he could make an excellent film.� Well, you would think that going to an excellent school would make you excellent but let us consider Yale. Yale is the single best school in the Western Hemisphere and I do not see anyone arguing that any of the men seriously aspiring to be President in 2004 (all of whom went to Yale) are very good at what they do. College, and life afterwards, is what you make it not what college makes of you=.

Was Revenge of the Sith the best movie ever? No. Was it the best movie George Lucas has directed? It probably is. Did it make more during opening weekend than the entire population of Diary Land will in all of our collective lives? You can bet your rent.

2:49 PM :: 8 comments so far ::
prev :: next