some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

no one cares for you a smidge when you're in an orphanage

April 27, 2005
Today was Secretary�s Day and of course, I went into work empty handed. This is not my fault: I specifically delegated the responsibility of not sucking up Secretary�s Day to my sister/roommate who works for the world�s finest chocolatier. However, because our place of employment is ever so fantastic, she was not aware that it was Secretary�s Day as if she were an orphan on Annie: Santa Clause? What�s that? Who�s he?

I have only taught a few years, but I always get the secretary something because she is the one who runs the school. She orders supplies, gives you the surprise observation schedule, doles out the paychecks, and records your vacation/sick time used (or not).

That the woman who does so much is not recognized or thanked is disgusting, and frankly dangerous.

Last year the Bearded Teacher Woman said, �You�re a kiss ass.� I replied, �Your copies are never made and your coffee is always cold.� A little bit of cocoa goes a long way. Beyond gift giving toward the end of the year, one might consider treating her like a human everyday � but what fun is that. The Bearded Teacher Woman has her Masters and having a Masters apparently gives you immunity from the repercussions of being a heinous bitch.

Now, because teachers are appreciated and paid well, I am going to work at my second job where I will stay on my diet and out of the food. I am reminded that no one likes to read about diets, especially as I am successful and others are not.



Someone said my sweaters look like socks. Argyle is my kryptonite. My argyle brings the suburban soccer moms, librarians and home schooled teens in Oklahoma to the yard. I could look like everyone else or I could look like an idiot. I took the later.

Have a great day.

3:44 PM :: 12 comments so far ::
prev :: next