some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

he's not talking to me

April 27, 2005
We had a moment of silence � it was the hardest thing I have ever done.


Today I was asked out on a date to see the opening of Star Wars by a coworker but I demurred on the basis that I would hate to be in the situation of telling my children that their mother and I had our first date at the opening of a Star Wars film. It would sound like two geeks had settled on each other instead of finding the perfect person.

I would not so much mind dating this person; I would mind having that story. I will need a good story for my children (and this page) when I meet the yet-to-be-named Mrs. Spritopias.

Instead of going to see the movie with a girl, I will be going to see it with my sister, which is cooler only in the context of the movie being a Star Wars film.

All the women I dated at University had class and curbed my geek tendencies. This is still an important requirement in any potential Mrs. Spritopias.


At my second job, there is a man who talks to him self, because he has mental problems. We do not stigmatize him for this, but it does unsettle each of us. He also argues with himself and shouts invectives at us. Okay, I will admit being mildly amused on occasion but I am a jerk.

Today, however, he addressed a comment to me and I felt like a complete ass because I did not initially respond. When he started working there, I would dutifully (and politely) respond to anything he said until I realized, �He�s not talking to me, he�s talking to him.� Today, when he addressed me, I assumed he was talking to himself (again). In fact, it is rare for him to talk to anyone � even if he addressed with a question or request.


Bill Gates was asked what he would do if he were King, here. I have to admit confusion, because I thought he already was.

11:21 PM :: 10 comments so far ::
prev :: next