some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

the day the music died

April 22, 2005

My iPod crashed today, leaving me with no alternative to erasing it and reinstalling the software. My iPod is like my left hand, only it is useful, and it tends to make other people jealous. I appreciate that. I do appreciate having lost my iPod functionality and the hour I spent rebuilding it.

It was impossible to clean the apartment because there was no music � I felt like I had gone from Janis Joplin to Helen Keller. It was nearly unbearable.





That�s me with my class. Do you love it? I�m hot, right?



The more people complain about the Pope, the more I like him. I wish I knew more Latin, so I could say �Long Live the Pope!� All the arguments against him are, in my opinion, absurd and if they were used against anyone else the person making them would be shouted down and called words ending in �ist.� If Hillary Clinton were appointed to a position and I pointed out that he was old or too dogmatic, I would be called ageist and sexist.

Then, the hate mongers said, �Dude, you�re a Jew by birth, doesn�t it bother you that he was in Hitler�s Youth?� Bitches, I started Cheney�s Youth. I grew up in Germany, I know many people who were Hitler�s Youth, it was optional but it was not really an option. Not being in Hitler�s Youth had serious repercussions and being a member had substantial reward, and this is all focused around the idea that they had a choice; they did not. Being in Hitler�s Youth was part of being enrolled in school. Cheney�s Youth only has cool uniforms and is a little more choosy about who gets to play.

It is the official stance of this Government (as President of Diary Land) that former membership in that organization as a child is not something to hold you back as an adult. If I was thirteen and being in a club upped my family�s food ration, I would have done it too. We always have this histrionic view of German behavior during World War II � we were not there, we were not starving, we were not fearful of our family�s well-being. It is easy for us to sit back in our material comfort and safety and throw rocks at someone who was chosen by God to lead the church.

The most absurd part of this is that to the person, everyone who has said that being in Hitler�s Youth was a bad thing has said that Bill Clinton using drugs, raping that woman, and using the power of his office to coerce sex out of people is none of my damn business and I should not hold it against him. Why does this seem ironic, only to me?

And yes, Ken Starr should never have asked him about Ms. Lewinsky and, yes he should not have lied about it under oath, they were both wrong on that count.

1:15 AM :: 8 comments so far ::
prev :: next