some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

not this time: make him eat his words

April 20, 2005
I am a sex offender in four states, according to: Criminal Check.com. Can you beat that? None of them are me, unfortunately. We found a ton of our relatives in there (or people with their names) that we already disliked.


Elizabeth of California and I are of one mind on the reaction to Benedict XVI. I suppose that years ago Hillary Clinton (Hir-ary Crinton!) should have made a baby with Ted Kennedy so that perhaps it could have been Pope and the American people would have been happy with the result. However, Hillary Clinton knew better because making babies with Ted Kennedy only ends you up at the bottom of a lake or drunk in a ditch in Boston. Sure, your son grows up to be someone fantastic but it is not so easy on you.

What were you expecting from the Supreme Pontiff of the Roman Catholic Church? If you want to get your moral relativism on, go visit the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (read: in America) because they are the gold standard of moral relativism. If you want God interpreted in a way that he is the permissive parent that is okay with whatever choice you have ever made, or will make, check them out. Sure, they read the Bible but like so many He-Man comic books from the Eighties � they are just stories and you should take them as seriously as my previous claim to have been abducted by aliens and impregnated by Benjamin Kozol�s baby.

I welcome this new Pope. I hope we have 265 more in the same mold. Christ, his message, and his teachings are timeless. Of course, the Church�s view on social issues is not likely to change and while we have changed our stances on things like slavery and violence, we were always wrong about that and essentially, you cannot look in the Bible and tell me that our current stances are wrong. You can do that with slavery and violence, the death penalty or most course changes but on the dignity/sanctity of human life you are pretty much stuck with what they have to offer.

We believe in God the Father. Parents, good parents, accept you the way you are but love you too much to let you stay there. Do you like how I just got my John Wesley on? I can rock Methodism just as hard as I can rock Lutheranism. If the Pope was legally our parent (instead of just ecclesiastically) and he was as laissez-faire with us as American Liberals would like, those same liberals would be calling for us to be taken by the child protective services and put into foster care. The God and Pope they want is frightening to me, at least my God and Pope care enough about me to let me make mistakes and guide me out of it rather than the indifference preferred.

How dare those silly Cardinals choose a Catholic Pope?


In other news:

Karl Rove, consider Atkins
Tom De Lay, shut up.
John Bolton, shave and a hair cut.
Condi Rice, mind the gap
Ann Coulter, you�re hot

10:16 AM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next