some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

getting lost in you is better than being alone

April 17, 2005
Last week we had a quiz on the planets and one of the questions was, �Some scientists believe that is really a large ball of ice.� The correct answer was not just, �Pluto,� but also, �Mr. Spritopias� heart.� I love that kid. I had to mark it �correct� because he is very perceptive. Victoria (Queen of Fourth Graders) stated that I did not even have a heart, when we were correcting the papers, and said that �Mr. Spritopias� Heart� belonged with the definition for black hole. Also, correct.

One of the things I enjoy about my second job is the comedy, or that I can laugh at things that I should not laugh at in my classroom � but still do.

At second job this girl told me, after I got my sarcastic on, that it was a good thing that I was smart because my looks were not going to get me anywhere and I told her that I hoped being gorgeous carried her far because that �stupid� is not going to take her many places.

This is the time that I should make fun of Aric, a kid I work with, because I said told him that while he makes fun of me at work I would go home to (1) cry about it (2) make fun of him on the internet (3) all of the above. Aric is just a goof with a goofy name but I cannot really make fun of him because I am just as terrible at our job as he is but I have worked there for a year and I should have figured it out by now, right? Unfortunately, I have the amazing ability to break, screw up, or lose something new everyday whereas must normal people quit after not being able to figure out the job.

Fortunately, this kid who makes fun of me, was not there when I mopped the floor after someone decorated it with ketchup and then after placing the �wet floor� sign out: slipped, fell and hit my head on the soda fountain. It was really spectacular and just underlines that Kipp and I should be the subject of a reality television show because while we try very hard not to do anything, catastrophe comes and finds us on a daily basis. I am beginning to think that Jennifer Saunders is writing my life and I am accepting that.

At least I am good at teaching (rookie of the year) because I would be devastated to have more in student loan debt than I will ever make in my profession to be bad at it.

Wednesday will be the anniversary of my Grandmother�s death a year ago; this week in the mail, we got a picture of our Grandfather with his new girlfriend. Being forewarned by my Godmother (who detests this man more that perhaps Satan himself) I opened the envelope, checked it for cash, and threw it out without looking. I think it is distasteful for him to (1) date (2) date this soon after she died (3) send us pictures of the other woman at the same time I think it is (1) socially acceptable to cash-check his correspondence, (2) ignore it if he has not sent cash and (3) strictly adhere to the fifty-dollar rule and not put out unless he reaches (at least) that bar

2:33 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next