some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

that's normal for a woman your age

April 13, 2005
One of the boys in my class�s voice is changing. Every once in a while it drops or spikes. We have a boy in our class who has Tourette�s Syndrome so the children either do not notice or have conditioned themselves not to make a big deal over it when it happens.

I wish the same thing could be said for adult women. Honestly, what the hell is wrong with women between the ages of thirty and fifty in my real life? It is the duty to point out to him that his voice cracked and remark how cute it is. I tore the first grade teacher�s head off about it. You do not, under any circumstances, make light of someone�s physical development. Puberty is not a joke. Before you comment in support of this habit, if a man had said to his sister, �Oh, you finally sprouted breasts it is about time!�

Children are self conscious of their physical development and pointing it out, or making a joke, is not really funny at all. I tried to politely tell her that but she said, �For years men have�� I cut her off, because I am tired of that feminist line of �I was oppressed and therefore I can oppress others� and said, �Name, the beard you are growing is a normal part of menopause but no one points it out or says anything and I would appreciate you extending the same courtesy to my students.� She looked like I had hit her in the head with a bat. I kind of wish I had.

I forgot that he's a white male, he deserves it. How stupid of me.

3:42 PM :: 12 comments so far ::
prev :: next