some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

haunted by the ghost of gregory hines

April 06, 2005
Today we had the Big Field Trip� and it was a success, all of the children voted this field trip as the most fun they have ever had on a field trip and would like to see this trip, or one similar, in the years to come.

In between paragraphs, my car was vandalized (again) and I had to deal with the police (again) who are, ironically, more frustrated than I am. So, I will super summarize my day.

We rented a van for the trip, which was not ready for us, and an hour late. This caused the whole trip to be thrown off and after that action and finally trundling the children into the cars and onto the road one of the children got car sick and threw up in what used to be my lunch bag, luckily one of my students had the presence of mind to dump my lunch all over the floor of the van before offering up my bag as a sacrifice to the toilet gods who were not with us on the Connecticut Turnpike. I am in the market for a new lunch bag. I would like another navy blue, canvas tote � machine washable � if you have one available or know where I can get one.

They tried to give me a Ford Expedition, but I was not ready to roll hard like I was Yvonne. I may be the first Lutheran Teacher, and a male, to earn the Jewish Mother Merit Badge but I have not moved up in rank of someone like Yvonne. I declined the Expedition.

Then, at the aquarium one of the children fell into a petting tank after his teacher, his parent, his chaperone and the aquarium volunteer chided him for his lack of caution. I did laugh at him and I am disappointed that he did not fall into a tank full of carnivorous animals. I was very embarrassed to be his teacher, until his parent laughed at him � that made it all better.

The rest of the day was incredibly tame by the standard of lost breakfasts and children going for swims. I always enjoy aquariums and IMAX films. However, I hate zoos and that really makes no sense at all because I disagree with zoos on a deep, philosophical level whereas aquariums are something of which we do not have enough.


My car was vandalized again tonight and one of the neighbors called the police to report this, the police then called me. What were they doing to my car and my sister�s car? They were tap-dancing. I am being haunted by Gregory Hines�s ghost. This is what I get for laughing at �Jesus �Tap Dancing� Christ.�

12:12 AM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next