some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

like a newborn baby, it just happens everyday

March 28, 2005
Last night was the night of one thousand sirens, part of me hopes that no one was hurt and the other part hopes whatever went down was spectacular because my sleep was disrupted. I am selfish like that.

I have parent conferences in a week, I had forgotten about them and I am less than excited. Last year was stellar; calling this year mediocre would be a compliment. I have never been so tired and cranky in my life. Time Magazine, that pinnacle of fourth grade literacy, said that the hardest part of teaching is dealing with parents. They hit that nail on the head.

A close second is patronization. Every time I mention that I am a teacher, people gush. They go on and on about how much they appreciate teachers, how important and giving we are. These same people vote down bond issues to improve schools.

I received my Graduate Committee today. I know all three professors on the committee; my Graduate Advisor is one of them (which is the commonly accepted practice) and two professors that I could not have been more critical of as an undergraduate. One of them is very brilliant; it can never be said that she is not intelligent, organized, and an expert in her field but her interpersonal skills are worse than mine and mine are next to intolerable. The other gentleman, if I remember correctly, is someone I called a colossal disappointment because of shenanigans he allowed to go on his classroom. Essentially, his �class debate� turned into a three-ring circus. I am disappointed because they never shoot me out of the canon. I hope they have forgotten me. People either: love me, do not remember me, or want to see me under a bus.

RE: Food does not make people happy.
CC: The General Public

The person who said that is a charlatan and a fool. Ice cream has mystical powers, it says so in the Bible.

5:21 PM :: 12 comments so far ::
prev :: next