some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

my gambling problem

March 20, 2005
Unique content available at www.spritopias.com.

I told my sister today that her self-described �string of bad luck� was more like the Great Wall of China. It took millions of man-hours on the part of a multitude of people to create, it is considered a wonder of the world and can be seen from space.

Before, during and after church parishioners complained or �pointed out� the condition of my sister�s car and I told them, �She just came from Kentucky. The ability to own a car and leave it dead on the lawn as a decoration is a sign of affluence. She is just nesting in her own way.� If you have seen my neighborhood, you would know that a beat-up old Honda is an improvement. If I were them I would worry more about the graffiti or heroin paraphernalia.

We went to the grocery today in search of low-carb alternatives to starvation. One of the few things I dislike about living in the Northeast is the requirement that you join their club and sign up for the card. I have no problem with Big Brother tracking what I am eating; I have a problem with putting my car keys on a conveyor belt at the grocery. When I was exiled to Kentucky for the two years prior to moving back to the Northeast I eschewed shopping at Kroger simply because you needed the silly card. I think everyone should get the sale and as a former customer service desk employee I hate standing in line or dealing with my former comrades.

I have a gambling problem. I keep drinking Diet Pepsi in the hope of winning a free song on iTunes. I have one three songs so far, but today I did not win any songs. I always win a song so I am extremely disappointed in my luck today. I will resist the urge to buy one on the way to work at Second Job this afternoon. If you win a song and do not want it, email me the coding on the cap and I will be your best friend for the duration of the song of my choice.

1:21 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next