some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Free At Last

March 04, 2005
Yesterday, at the post office, this person said to me �finally, you�re off the phone!� because I had received an important, �our adoption is going swimmingly� phone call from my friend Ruth. I was not loud on the phone and I did not talk about anything offensive, which shocked Ruth, my sister (who was with me) and even myself. I must be coming down with something because normally I would have said something to the man. My sister said that I am getting �soft.�

Some people have a lot of nerve on their cell phones but I try to never be the person in the store who is making everyone experience their conversation with them. I prefer to be the person driving erratically, swerving like a drunk, and terrifying everyone else on the road while I chat it up with them Home Office at Suburban Island to being the person talking on the phone during the movie, although Shawn of the Dead was terrible enough to have called your long lost cousin Kimberly to see if she remembers the time when we were kids and Jessica fell in the well and Lassie had to save her and it was all the fault of the Republican Party, etc.

Today is an odd day because it the birthday of all my great grandparents � except the one who is living � one of the reasons that I am so endeared to the one remains because I am the only great-grandchild who remembers her husband (and fondly). He had one hell of a personality. I like to think I got my personality and sense of humor from him and my prudish conservatism from his wife. The closer to Hazel is closer to God.

They let Martha out for my birthday party on Saturday! Thank you, George W. Bush! You are the best President we have had all week. Finally, someone recognized the injustice of incarcerating a rich person, much less a rich white person for white collar crime (and you know Martha�s collars are appropriately washed, ironed, and starched). I shudder to think where this world is going when people like Martha Stewart are in prison and poor people are not.

Sarcasm aside, Aunt Martha got a raw deal and she will claw her way back to the top so keep on hating her because she is better than you because we all know what is really at the root of all this nonsense. Her milkshake brought the girls to the K-Mart and no one else could cut it.

I left all my teacher�s guides at home today, talk about exposing the ignorance of the faculty.

3:01 PM :: 15 comments so far ::
prev :: next