some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

you can't do that on spritopias

February 26, 2005
At my second job, I work for and with people who do not speak English. I am not being crass about my boss� imperfect English; there are people who are �above� me who only know a few words in English and have to use them get me to do things.

I feel like I am on a game show called �Maxi Mila,� where I figure out my task by fitting together poorly worded clues, foreign words and gestures in a blend of �You Can�t Do That On Television!� �Taboo� and �Family Feud.� They must think I am some special kind of stupid at work because I have a hard time understanding my coworkers but I have a blast doing it. The best was Jorge explaining to me that the degreaser was poisonous so I had to put away the food or move it before cleaning something. This I knew, but I enjoyed making him act it out.

Thanks to Golf Widow, I do know what fourteen is in Spanish and that came in handy today, although a co-worker did not know whom U2 or Bono were when I was able to use it and had to explain that I did not know numbers five through thirteen but I magically know fourteen. I told her that I had learned it from Golf Widow and she did not know who Golf was either. I asked her if she lived under a rock and only came out to come to work, she said that she knew many things but it cannot be very important if she does not know about Bono, U2, or Golf Widow.

Seriously, I did not know that in 2005 people did not have the internet in their homes. I wonder if she has running water. I would venture the guess that she did not .

12:41 AM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next