some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

yeah, what he said

February 23, 2005
Yesterday, because the laundry cycle and the moon were in the same house, I was able to wear my favorite t-shirt: �don�t mess with Kansas, either.� I am working this shirt out of my system for when I visit my best (not only) friend in Texas this summer because that is the wrong place to think that shirt is clever. Everything is bigger in Texas � including the propensity of me offending the wrong person at the wrong time. Still, I know only one Texan who is unhappy about being from the Republic of Texas but I think she would be unhappy as a New Yorker, Californian, or Minnesotan too because it is the hallmark of her peer group.

However, my shirt offended someone who came up to me, very upset, and said, �Who is messing with Kansas?� Who is messing with Kansas, indeed! Who isn�t messing with Kansas! The same yahoos who mess with Texas are messing with Kansas. This woman was angry; I have never passively solicited such a reaction. Her daughter tried to calm her down and I even started to feel bad that I had upset her so much. It reminded me of the time I was at a Wal Mart in Kentucky where the cashier told a woman, �you need to keep your momma on a leash.�

10:15 AM :: 8 comments so far ::
prev :: next