some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

the straight and narrow-minded

February 22, 2005
Few things in life are as obnoxious as someone who: was an addict, who sobers up, and finds religion. While part of me is happy for them for finding something good and discarding something bad, I do not like their general presumption that everyone else has something that they need to wake up from and that they are the alarm clock of morality.

I have had religion all my life. I have been on the straight and narrow-minded since before James Dobson made it cool. We all have personal demons we wrestle and just because you traded in heroin for self-righteousness does not mean that the rest of have something to trade in. Personally, I plan to trade up when next I rotate my vices.

They assume that I am doing drugs and involved in a �perverse� sexual lifestyle, which I am doing neither. The only thing about my life that could be considered perverse is how boring it is. They have not disclosed what the perverse sexual lifestyle entails but it has to be better than being too incredibly shy to ask someone on a date, being the oldest virgin on record and generally disinterested in most of the social activities I am invited to. The only thing to be worried about with my group activities is that I avoid them, not participate naked.

Diary, you of all people would know if I were up to something tawdry. You would be a more popular diary if I were.

If I am going to expose the idea of �judge not lest ye be judged� I should also subscribe to �bore not lest ye be boring� and embark upon today�s adventure: going to the Sprint Store. Sprint is on my top ten list of �Banes of my existence,� mainly because they have horrible service that is still superior to that of their competition. What am I to do? I need a new phone number, one for this local area because I still have my number from Kentucky and that is no good for people here.

Top Ten Banes of my Existence
in no particular order

1. Sprint PCS
2. Diary Land �Help�
3. Grading Math
4. Folding Laundry
5. The person who vandalizes my car
6. Carbohydrates
7. The Washington Post
8. Telephone help desks where no one speaks English
9. Making wireless internet work
10. the KGB (they are still trying to nab me)


What are yours?

12:03 PM :: 10 comments so far ::
prev :: next