some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

On the second day, Spritopias rested

February 21, 2005
Today, on my way home from my second job, I stopped at my (friendly?) neighborhood Mc Donald�s to pick up my low carb double grilled chicken cheddar jack salad (�Spritopias � 2005) and learned that on the weekend I am going off my diet in conjunction with visiting Mary Tyler Moore they will have Shamrock Shakes. If there are any atheists reading this, �In your face,� the Shamrock Shake is the surest tangible proof that there is a God and he loves us.

It will be in mine, every chance I get.

It�s a funny thing when I walk into Mc Donald�s you hear the tiny woman from Guatemala moan because the salads are made fresh daily, but I do not care for bacon bits nor do I care for parmesan cheese and I mentioned to the manager once while she took my order how I would love to have cheddar cheese on my salad but not bacon and she said that I could have anything I wanted when it was not busy. They even take the tomatoes out because they know I am allergic to them.

The other funny event is that when asked, �what would you like to order?� I say, �I would like a quarter pound hamburger, no cheese or pickles, medium French Fried potatoes, and a large Vanilla Milk Shake.� The woman who rings me up replies that will be $1.95 � one double grilled chicken cheddar jack salad (�Spritopias 2005) and a small diet coke.� Okay, I think it is clever and no I do not think you �had to be there� to not notice this was a complete dork event.

Nothing happened on the home front in my preparations for my sister moving in. The living room remains clean and ready for her to walk in the door but there is nothing done in the room she will occupy once her bedroom furniture arrives. I did not feel like it, I have been tired all weekend. I have the week off from school and I hope I do not spend all of it tired and groggy.

Tuesday I am supposed to go to Ikea with my friend who teaches in our Nursery but she will bail due to the snow and I really wanted to get things to change this apartment into a two person dwelling. I can go myself but I cannot see color so that makes some of the choices tough or I have to ask for help and I do not like doing either of those things.

Normally when you ask for help when you�re color blind the people are not kind to you about it. First, they want a lengthy explanation of your color blindness and since I am not �black/white color-blind� but the �red/green color-blind� people think I do not need help, I should have the general idea. I usually do not. The second thing they do is: give you a quiz, �What color is my shirt?� �How do you know when the light is green at an intersection?� �Did you know that your shows are blue?� �How do you find your car in the parking lot?� (Grey; they are always in the same order; my shoes are always blue, but never suede; I set off the alarm with my panic button key fob)

The last time I went to Ikea a man with a giant booger in his nose that looked like a tumor asked me if I was from Kansas. I had no idea why he was asking me this or why he would care in the bathroom storage department but when I wandered into the aisle of mirrors I discovered that I had on my Don�t Mess with Kansas either shirt and that it was a booger, not a tumor because the man was pulling it out of his nose. He did not eat it, a waste of a perfectly good booger. Two fourth graders could have dined on it. I was asked by two children why you should not mess with Kansas, and I do not have a good answer for that except that it was once known as Bleeding Kansas and you should never trust a state that bleeds for three years and does not die.

I will enlist Nicky D or Golf Widow to shop with me at IKEA if the Nursery Teacher bails on me, but some how I doubt either of them wants to realize me in the real world to help me pick out a hamper and bathmat.

Why do we get the big snow when there is no school in the morning? Where is the justice in this?

12:36 AM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next