some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

On the first day, Spritopias made the mess bigger

February 20, 2005

In one week, my sister will be moving in with me for a while. I am in the process of moving my study into the nursery and rearranging the entire apartment at once. I have never been this disorganized in my life.

I have decided that I will clean the nursery first, as it is. Then clean the study. After I have done this, I can see what is where and where I want things to live from now on. I am also going to have to clean my bedroom up since the nursery is off the master bedroom. I have a bad habit of cleaning by exile, moving unwanted things to another room making one room fantastic and organized while others become storage areas.

I also have to start getting rid of things. My Bubbe said that I was never a child and I was born a sixty-year-old man named Mordecai. I have her habit of saving: shopping bags, boxes that might be good for mailing something some day, containers I might use to contain something else, all my receipts (in no organized fashion), every piece of mail I have been sent by a friend or loved one.

I have also discovered some interesting things in this process, in the nursery I have found a Ken Doll in the box altered by a friend to appear to me. I should have taken a picture or perhaps kept it but I have disassembled it to be given to the nursery school. I do not feel compelled to clutter my life with things I am never going to need, use or look at.

I have also found: seventeen different Luke Skywalker action figures, the comic books that came with He-Man action figures during the 1980s, enough blank CDs to pirate the complete discography of Johnny Cash, nine unpaired socks, and mutant dust bunnies under the furniture.

Today also included: a trip to Ikea, freezing at the gas station, and a few hours spent at my part time job. It is back to the grindstone for me, have a nice night.

12:49 AM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next