some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

the traditional enemy of reason

February 17, 2005
I was emailing back and forth with a friend and decided, there are some choices in life that are always wrong and some that are always right. Going to Law School is always the right choice. For me it is too late to go to Law School, I have found my niche and will �bloom where I am planted.� If you do not know what to do, Law School is the best of all possible worlds. I should not have gone to Nebraska. I should have gone to Georgetown; I should have gone to Law School. I should not marinate in my regrets. I am a great deal more successful and happy than most people I know are.

I have to push myself to procrastinate later. I have been running hard to catch up on things that I let drop. My grading is one of those things that I have slip. Being a couple days behind because I would rather watch a DVD, catch up on reading, or go to the gym makes the work unreasonably hard since I have a habit of tailoring one student�s assignment to meet their needs and not make a note of it, so I will be looking at a paper trying to figure out why the did what they did and it hits me, I told him to do that. It is always the boys in my classroom, I could write the assignments for the week on the board, leave, and when I came back the boys would be hanging upside down from the ceiling fans and the girls would be done with their work.

In Connecticut, at least where I live, there is a vigorous debate about allowing homosexual couples the right to marry. My religious convictions say, �no� and my civic principles say, �why not.� The more I think about it and try to reconcile my religious convictions with my civic ones the worse my quandary becomes. The main secular argument against allowing homosexuals to marry is tradition. More, and more, �tradition� becomes in my mind the worst possible argument for anything.

I do not like calling it �gay marriage� because it makes marriage sound like a happy institution

�Tradition� is losing ground as well in other debates in my world. In the Church we are in an ongoing �discussion� about the style or format of worship and the best arguments people can muster �tradition is good� and �tradition is bad.� There has to be a deeper reasoning beyond �tradition� especially when so few of us understand the history and dynamics behind that tradition.

Now, I embark on a journey to the United States Post Office. If you do not hear from me in three days send help.

3:07 PM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next