some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Martin Sheen played Kennedy, but never Jesus

February 16, 2005
This morning I woke up to a tomb-like cold house. I felt like I had again moved into Elizabeth Edward�s Soul�, excluding a brief stint to the bathroom where I piped up the heat, I stayed in bed until seven o�clock because there was no reason to get out of the bed and be colder. At seven I took a cold, cold shower and realized that it was not that I had turned the heat I do not pay for down but something was wrong with the boiler or water heater or whatever machine provides heated water and air from the basement. Had James Carville taken a day off from his part time job of keeping my home warm? I began to wonder, but not too long because a cold shower in an unheated home is great for burning calories ala shivering but not so good for anything else.

Do you remember The Electric Company? I remember best the profiles saying syllables of words �bah� �at� �bat.� I also remember thinking when I was little that when you spoke in the winter, and the warm, moist air that leaves your mouth in a fog was actually your syllables coming out as actual words. My best friend at the time I thought this was Chinese and I attributed the fact that I could not read her syllables to not being able to understand what she was saying either. I remember studying the mist like it was going to come out in perfectly formed Zaner-Bloser script. I guess most people�s breathed syllables are as illegible as their handwriting. This is what came to my mind as I was combating hypothermia and getting ready for school.

Thankfully, while the school and my home are in one building they are on two boilers and the school was not as bad my home. I would rather be uncomfortable at home than at work because my hobbits have a vacation starting this weekend and there is no good reason to get them off track.

I am supposed to be reading The Purpose Driven Life, because we all at one point search for meaning and direction in life. My job has eaten my life and I wanted to be purposefully driven out of the rut that vocation was everything, I have since realized that I am mostly German and Germans are all work ethic, imperial expansion is just a weekend hobby.

I lost the book. Exactly, how purpose driven am I? I cannot even keep track of the book! If I were one of my students, I would be spending recess sitting on the steps watching the other children while Kindergarteners hurled insults at me and I brooded about my own stupidity. The Kindergarteners do hurl insults at my kids when they are in time out; it is a time-honored tradition of being a Kindergartener because the little people have their act together.

Now is the time on Spritopias that we get ready to watch The West Wing having realized that no one checks to see if I went to church on days we have two services because people just assume that I went to other one.

6:19 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next