some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

the unofficial sponsor of the junk in my trunk

February 15, 2005
Yesterday was Valentine�s Day, even if I am not a female teacher I still was presented with chocolate and other candies, cards and small gifts. I still do their grades at the end of each term; they still kiss up.

Sadly, I cannot eat candy or chocolate right now so all of my candy has been redistributed to those without candy or banked in the reward bag for a time when someone deserves candy or a treat. I know a good granola bar or an orange would be a better reward for children and there are some of you who think the children should never get rewards (I disagree) and while I prefer to give healthy snacks I also enjoy giving away free-to-me snacks.

I actually worked for two administrators who believed that it was wrong to reward children � not because it reinforced the idea that you should do something to get something which I completely agree with but disagree with in that you do most things with an end result in mind (i.e.: work = paycheck) � they thought there should be no rewards (candy, honors, special trips, a verbal pat on the back) because when I say, Good job, Catie! You write an excellent diary! then Mary feels left out, her feelings are hurt that I did not say the same thing to her or reward her work.

While I do not think I should be running out intentionally scarring children, I think �saving their feelings from being scarred� is useless when you consider the fact that children need to learn how to accept praise and criticism for themselves and for others. It should motivate Child B when s/he sees Child A win, be praised or chomping on chocolates; even if it did not I still think good work and citizenship should be rewarded in school as bad behavior is punished.

Those two women were not into punishing children, something discussed at brief here, although they are not the woman named in the article, this is the problem school.

There is a problem in school with the devolving behavior of the students that needs to be addressed � we need to focus on ways to improve the management of our schools and I think one of those is holding out examples and rewarding what is right, good or expected.

I meant to write, �if you are going to bust my diet, bring Godiva,� as a former employee of the best chocolatier on the planet I share my friend Shelley�s disgust at the idea of eating anything that is not Godiva and hurt feelings by any potential mate (if indeed mating is their goal) that brings me a Whitman�s Sampler. Godiva is the best based purely on the quality and quality control of the chocolate and ingredients. While I still value a Hershey�s Kiss and love Snickers, you would be horrified to know the actual quality standards of Gheridelli (sp?), never let that pass your lips (two words: monkey poop). Godiva is an unwitting and completely unofficial sponsor of the 2005 Dalloway Days.


3:16 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next