some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

leperchaun! score!

February 05, 2005
Today I spoke to one of the other guardians of the boy who cursed me out ( read here), apparently while I was on the phone with his mother he decided to run away from home. He did not just run away from home, he took his grandmother�s motorized wheelchair that she would use while shopping, put some of this things in it and took off � at three miles an hour. When the movie of my life is made, I hope they play �Born to be Wild� for this scene.

Imagine what a ten year old thought was important enough to take with him when he ran away: a television, his video game machine, potato chips, a case of Capri Sun, and a copy of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I could survive for a while on that too, but where was he going to plug it in?

The adult related to him who found him had encountered him crossing a busy intersection. Their comment was, �If it wasn�t my grandson, I would have laughed at the absurdity.� I might be considered culpable in this but I laughed. He must have looked like an absolute lunatic, but I am not worried. Those wheelchair/shopping carts do not have enough battery life for him to have gotten far.


I never leave the house without a notebook in my pocket so I will remember to the write it out later. There are stories that I have forgotten to tell you and the following is one of them.

As many long-term readers are aware, the homeless used my car as an ATM when I first came to Connecticut. After four �break ins,� my car has been left alone for a year � but I forgot to tell you something. This is fantastic.

I left my car unlocked one night accidentally, it was raining and I was more interested in being inside my monastery than not and neglected to hit the �lock� button on my key fob.

The next morning I got in my car to go to Lackluster Stop & Shop, and noticed a funky smell but dismissed it because I am guy and funky smells are par for the course. I rolled down my window to flush it out but it would not go away. I decided that when I got to Stop & Shop, I would inspect the car. The inspection found a homeless �little person� sleeping in the back of my car! He had slept in my car to avoid being rained on, he was the bad smell.

If he were not African American my initial thought would have said, �leprechaun, score!� However, most people who have just woken up are normally crabby and so was he, he was not only angry that I had woken him but I had taken him some place he did not want to be. He climbed out of my car in a mood to match his scent.

The nerve, driving my own car.


Rachel�s cat died, show her the love.

9:20 PM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next