some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

If they gave out medals for humility, no one would wear them.

February 03, 2005
One of the guardians of a boy in my class wants me to tutor him. They want to pay me a set amount per hour for an hour each week, he would just stay after school and I would work with him for the time set.

I am not sure that I have the desire to spend time after school like that with this child. He runs me down. He has a plethora of problems and is most of my management during the day. Do I want to spend my free time with him? I really do not.

However, his problems stem from the need for attention and positive reinforcement. This could help him, this could turn him around. I do not want to do it, but I think I have to.

The problem then becomes my being uncomfortable with accepting payment for the job. The guardians already pay a great deal for him to attend our school and I feel like if he is not getting what he needs from me during the school day then I should be doing the tutoring for free. So, I am going to do the tutoring but I am not accepting payment for the work, I consider this as a part of my salary. It is my job to teach them, even if it takes more than the time we have during the school day.

They were pretty pushy about paying for me if I do this; that will be the hard part: saying no.

Today when I got home from school there was a message from Apple Computer on my phone reminding me that my birthday was soon and perhaps Apple Computer had the right gift for me. Who ever came up with that idea is an evil genius because it got the wheels spinning in my head but after a trip around the Apple Store, I realized that anything I wanted was going to be in �the grand� range and all I really want for my birthday is a trip to Buca di Beppo. I usually get great gifts on my birthday and this year I have no idea what I want. Last year I received furniture and a home make over, and while I would enjoy the same thing this year, it is not going to happen.

I got offers today for a diary reviews, I have no idea why. I am opposed to having a diary review mainly because the sites offering reviews are riddled with errors themselves.

I am still behind on the grading. I will get back to you later.


I am nerdier than 43% of all people. Are you nerdier? Click here to find out!

10:03 PM :: 8 comments so far ::
prev :: next