some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

did he just pronounce 'nuclear' correctly?

February 02, 2005
I am not a TV person. I do not watch a lot of television, I am not the person at the water cooler kibitzing about what was on last night. Despite that, this entry is heavy on television. Last night someone accidentally sent over the emergency announcement system on the radio and television that the State of Connecticut needed to be evacuated. The funny thing is that no one evacuated, at least there was not very many people making their way out of the state. I only heard about this event when I was at the gym this morning because I do not listen to the radio or watch television in the evening. When you don�t have cable nothing is ever on and right now television is captivated with �American I�m Dull.� It was even on Howard Stern this morning on my way home from the gym. You know the world has gone to hell when Howard Stern is concerned with �American I�m Dull� and I am listening to Howard Stern. Please do not hate me because I love music too much to enjoy American Idol.

The next time I send something to a college student in the mail I have to remember to include a self addressed stamped envelope in the mail so they can thank me. I sent Sara Emo something in the mail but neglected the fact that she is in college where the money tree only rains for beer, pizza, and second run dollar theaters.

As I look forward to graduate school this summer, I have to prepare myself for the onslaught of college life again. I will be staying in the dorms and going to classes again so I will have the good (April Fett, only one room to clean, and a place populated by only literate people) the bad (Nebraska, Nebraska, and Nebraska) and the ugly: (ramen noodles, community showers, and a curfew).

The best thing will be that the person make unkind remarks about the teacher will be yours truly instead of being on the receiving end of such remarks. This time around, I plan to: attend my classes, labs, and lectures; do all readings, assignments, and projects; be polite to instructors and classmates; and above all not skate through. I am the guy who never: studies, works or expends effort, conversely I am the guy who always: passes with flying colors, knows the material backward and forward, and ruins any chance of the grade being curved up.


Martha Stewart has been granted a reality by the people at the National Broadcasting Company (NBC), apparently in the format of The Apprentice. I admire Martha Stewart. She has done a great many things in her life, she was not prosecuted because she was a criminal. Martha was prosecuted because people were jealous of her success. However, I am not sure she is the best person to apprentice. I would not pass up the opportunity, but I am sure there are better people to learn from; people like me. I should do an Apprentice - Nicky, my attorney will fill in for Carolyn and
Saru-San will fill in for George. We will have fantastic board rooms, excellent challenges and after you are fired, Saru San will behead you. Nicky and I feel that is more exciting than, �The Today Show.�



Tonight is the State of the Union. I support the President but I am not thrilled to watch another speech presented in Manglish � President Bush�s first language � while Senator Edward �Benny Hill� Kennedy gafaws through the speech to express his discontent. I do not begrudge discontent as much as I begrudge how he expresses it. Have some class about your discontent. I think I might read the speech tomorrow morning.

If I miss this State of the Union, it would be the first State of the Union I have missed since Reagan was President. George W. Bush has qualities in a leader and politician that I can objectively admire, but I am stating the obvious when I say �He is not the speaker President Clinton is.�

This President will not be remembered for his poor speaking or even for Iraq, it will not be the spread of Democracy or Education Reform. His legacy will be standing between gays and the right to marry. I have strong opinions on both side of this issue, but we all deserve Equal Protection under the Law.

9:20 PM :: 10 comments so far ::
prev :: next