some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Ask and you shall receive.

January 26, 2005
Yesterday was a rough ride. I broke a machine at the gym, burned my breakfast, battled a parent about homework requirements, sat in something wet giving everyone (being my class) the impression I peed myself and napped all afternoon destroying any chance of getting things done. Before I went to bed, I told Mary that I wanted a day off.

Ask and you shall receive.

I was buzzing around the house today getting ready when my text messenger on my phone went off, courtesy of the good people at NBC 30 letting me know school was cancelled. I checked the television, my email (another service they provide) and decided against verifying with a coworker before hanging up my khakis and putting clean pajamas on. It�s Hugh Hefner Day here, we are not getting dressed for anyone. Dan Rather over at CBS offers the same service, but he is �hit and miss� with accuracy, so I stick with Bryan and Keisha.

Also, investigation reports that everyone who said to me in the last seven days �Those Who Can�t, Teach� are unemployed. �Those Who Can�t� do what, make certain Mom�s couch does not walk off? �Those Who Can�t� spend Daddy�s money? �Those Who Can�t� con their little sister into buying them lunch? Let me tell you something: I am sitting on my mother�s couch, in clothes I bought with the Major�s money, eating a breakfast off dishes purchased by my sister. I can be a lazy slug like �those who can� but I have a terrible affliction that prevents me from being like you all day, every day: pride.

I know pride is one of the seven deadly sins but I would prefer that over sloth.

How will I spend my snow day? I will: clean my house like it is Saturday, grade papers, rewrite lesson plans, and plan the Spring Field Trips. Today is a bad day to solicit chaperones so I will have to give that a day or two. I will also luxuriate with George Washington in my suede chair and ottoman (also purchased with Daddy�s money) in �buzzy as a bee� pattern Old Navy pajama pants and matching jersey.

7:55 AM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next