some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Mid Day Update

January 24, 2005

Today was DARE Graduation. We all know how I feel about the War on Drugs (futile), but DARE is not that bad in that it does give kids skills to resist drug use and other illegal activities. Actually, everything our Government does that has the title �War on�� needs to be rethought or thought about at all for a first time.

But, today was DARE Graduation and one of the skills the students learned was how to respond if someone calls you a chicken. Calling someone �chicken� is not something I have heard since, oh, before you were born. Kids don�t call each other chickens anymore. However, the DARE Officer said that when someone calls you a chicken say �No, I�m a __________ � and tell them you are another animal. At Graduation the Office role played this with one of my girls and said, �You�re a chicken!� She said in front of everyone, �You�re a pig!�

You can�t rehearse this stuff, it is great.


You do not see men wearing hats anymore, not ball caps or snow beanies, but hats. You never see bowlers, fedoras, top hats or the like anymore outside of pimps and pimply high school nerds trying to be �different.� I have asked Colleen in her capacity as Fashionista General of the People�s Republic of Diary Land to help me bring them back. The only problem in being President of Diary Land is that my entire cabinet is comprised of women and I am not about to start ordering them around like some sort of harem. A harem was a promised part of the job that I have yet to see delivered on, oh well.

10:54 AM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next