some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

snow day

January 23, 2005
Now I understand why my landlord put in the storm windows. This is my first home and I learn something new about home maintenance every day. Before this morning, I was sure that the extra window was pretty silly. When I woke up this morning I could not see the court house from my bedroom, nor the Methadone clinic (we share a parking lot) and no one was outside waiting for said clinic to open. I could not see out of the living room windows either but I could tell that the wind was blowing from a parallel direction. Once this stops my neighborhood will look great � the old buildings do not look as dreary when they are draped in a blanket of snow.

Church was cancelled for today, validating us paying the pastor�s gas and mileage on his enormous SUV, and causing several old people who walked here (I live in the church) to ring my doorbell and berate me for church being closed, I provided them with a warm cup of coffee and a kick in the ass. The pastor should have been here anyway for the people who showed up � if nothing else his tank could have brought them all back to their nursing homes (which should not have let them out) but thankfully the police have SUVs and a social conscience.

I did not know church was cancelled since I watched DVDs yesterday and not television. It is unfathomable to me that you would cancel church. I realize that you want to look to the safety of your parishioners but you also have to factor in that we are adults capable of making bad choices on our own. Several people did.

Now, I get to dig out my car because my part time job is still open and I will still have to go in this afternoon. I am sure that no one will come in to the store, if they do they will buy a lot of food and I will have to make it all while Little Saddam (my boss) leans on the counter and berates me (for being a lazy Jew) and most likely no one will come in and I will get to clean things for five or six hours. I do not so much mind cleaning things; I enjoy that over making messes. It is nice to know that the church can do nothing on the one day a week it does something but stores and restaurants, which remain open all the time, feel it is important that they be open if just for the people who wander in.

I hope everyone else enjoys a nice warm day, inside with: books, DVD players, vacuums, and high-speed internet connections. I will be asking the age-old questions, �Would you like to Coronary Size that?� �Did you want extra cholesterol?� and �Your total is an astounding waste of money, please pull to the first window!�

9:24 AM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next