some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

iTunes celebrity play list

January 23, 2005
Today I went to work and it was not the day I had expected. I expected a day of leisure but what happened instead was chaos. There was only one restaurant open in the town, ours and only one person showed up for work beside management, me. This made for an extremely crazy day. Most days at my second job, I do not work my butt off. I always put forth an honest effort but I do not kill myself. I eschew responsibility and work ethic; I am there for extra money not extra stress. It was our busiest Sunday on record, and if saw the Apprentice this week to view university graduates fail at working in fast food you noticed that it is not easy to work there, it is indeed a cake walk. Working in a seriously understaffed situation is not cool. However, I do not do that for a living. I do that because I am German, Germans work. We derive pleasure from vocation and industriously spent time.

I have completed my iPod play list for when I workout. I am jealous that I do not have a celebrity play list on iTunes (yet, fingers crossed) I call it �Jim.� Jim includes:

40� Franz Ferdinand
This song has a beat that starts slow enough to get me going, but not too slow.

A Little Less Conversation Elvis (The King, son)
This is one of several songs from our debate warm up track

Everything You Want Vertical Horizon
Another song from the debate warm up track, it gets me going with reminders of when Melinda and I used to �leave blood on the grass�

You Get What You Give The New Radicals
Melinda and I liked the name and added the track because it reminded us of our argumentation coach, Julie. It has a catchy, pop beat; trite lyrics; and is sung poorly so anyone can sing along. It has the kind of hopeful theme that you sometimes needed in competition � but not often when working with either of us.

Everything to Everyone Everclear
Melinda said this song was about me; sarcastic or clairvoyant? Melinda was not my girl friend but I spend more quality time with her and have more happy memories of times with her.

1985 Bowling for Soup
This song reminds me of the Amazon Women that are the gym when I am.

Our House Madness
This was the theme to a television show that was mediocre but is sufficiently goofy for me to enjoy singing along to. I also heart the eighties.

West End Girls Pet Shop Boys
Because it was in with �Our House� in the one hit wonders part of iTunes, so I bought it (money grows on trees) and it seemed to fit.

Popular Nada
I needed something angry and Canadian sounding but Alanis was not doing it for me because I cannot her nakedness from her second (third?) album out of my head. It disturbs me because she is not what I would consider attractive.

Mambo Italiano Dean Martin
You are either with Dean Martin or with Frank Sinatra, I am with Dean Martin because my little sister is a Frank Sinatra person. My sister and I have a standing policy to disagree on everything we possibly can, argue about everything possible, and bring someone who talks bad about our counterpart to a bitter, bloody end. You can like both but between the Princess and I, you need to have one clear favorite.

Smells like Teen Spirit Nirvana
This has a great beat and was popular the last time I was in shape.

Stand REM
I loved quoting REM as if they were philosophers in debate; this was one of the songs I drew inspiration from and today it reminds me of a past defeat that enrages me and drives me to go faster, harder, and not fail again.

The Boxer Simon and the ugly guy who needed a haircut
This has a slower beat about the time that I need to start to cool down before getting off the machines and going home.

Next Year Foo Fighters
This is a song I want played at my funeral (on the presumption that people will attend) and it reminds me that I am not ready to die; nor am I signing up to die the deaths that my family members died this passed

You�ll Think of Me Keith Urban
I heard this song on the way to my Grandmother�s funeral. Her death, more than any action in her life influenced me the most. She died because she did not take care of herself and she lost her will to live. I need that reminder that I do not want to die in a way that can be stopped, I am chasing life not diabetes.

It�s the End of the World as We Know It REM
It is. Isn�t it?

Everybody Wants to Rule the World Tears For Fears
So glad we�ve almost made it.


10:32 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next