some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

food emergency averted

January 22, 2005
I returned from the store about two hours ago and have just finished cleaning things up. I had to get the necessities in case I am snowed into the building for a couple of days. These things include bacon, diet Coke, bottled water, Jell-o, Zip-lock containers, cabbage, a corned beef brisket (reduced for quick sale!), and Glad bags (for the comedy).

I moved up here for the autumns and winters, I am not afraid of a nor�easter but I am not a fan of using contractions when I speak or write. Being snowed in allows me time to catch up on diary reading, and by diary reading I may mean �waiting for
Emperor Saru-San�s page to load (which is worth it but time consuming but worth it), cleaning my office (not worth it) and watching DVDs (always worth it).

The thing that surprised me the most about today was how hysterical people were in their mad rush to provision themselves. I went to Sam�s and Stop and Shop so I was in express lanes both times, and getting a healthy amount of odd looks. Surely, I needed more than a head of cabbage and Zip-lock containers. My family was snowed in unprepared once when I was growing up and I learned my lesson the first time: go spend the night at Jeremy�s because his parents are not idiots. I also do not eat bread, by eggs in sets of thirty-six, and drink shelf life milk that does not need to be refrigerated so I am good as long as this does not last more than a month.

I am worried about Golf Widow and Forty Plus as they are closer to Long Island Sound than I am. What does it sound like? Ma, I wanna go to Florida! Being along the sound means warmer but wetter weather than will reach me up in the Heartland/Capital region.

I am worried about the homeless people who mill around my neighborhood; hopefully they have enough sense to go to the Salvation Army or some other place that will take them in.

I am amazed at how stupid people at the stores were, it was bad enough that we were collectively unprepared for a storm we knew was coming our way for about a week but did we need to compound it by being idiots at the grocery and Sam�s. It amazes me that these people (always in SUVs or Volkswagen Jettas) are in such a hurry but will park in the middle of the parking lot lane so they can get a parking spot for ten minutes when they could just have parked anywhere and been in and out quickly. I would rather walk ten more feet than to wait five more minutes. As a former driver of both, I can tell you that a lot of them time your brain falls right out. However, I would do anything to be driving a Jetta again.

I�m going to go take pictures of the snow.

5:31 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next