some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

did I just say that?

January 20, 2005
Today in class, we watched the Inauguration and had our Inaugural Gala. Ten year olds get pizza, nachos, Cherry Coke, and root beer floats for three dollars. You will not find a party like that in Washington, D.C. We elected a President and Vice-President of our own; the first Vietnamese President was from my class, as well as the first female Vice-President. How about them apples?

Even the children who supported Kerry were caught up in the excitement of the day, we had the TV on for most of the day so they could get the pieces of presidential history that NBC was sharing with them as we did our lessons.

At one point one of the boys said, �The Bush Twins are hot� but this coincided with me thinking it so I had this moment of horror when I thought to myself, �did I just say that to nine and ten year olds?� Everyone was excited to see the mayor of our town on TV and the Governor of California.

Would we be criticizing the inaugural if Kerry had won? No, we would not. Is this one over the top? Yes, it is and still less expensive (inflation factored in) than either of President Clinton�s.

7:53 PM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next