some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

monk

January 19, 2005
My students discovered that I have many of the same �personality traits� as the individual who plays Monk on the television series by the same name. Some of them have had me as a teacher for two years and all but one of them have been eating lunch with me as long. I wonder what took them so long to notice. They have started calling me �Mr. Monk� on two levels, first the show and the second level of me living like a monk.

My students are doing reports on Presidents and for reasons known only to her, Victoria � Queen of all Fourth Graders � brought me Teddy Roosevelt Steak Sauce, which I am dying to try but I am in ketosis and would rather stay there than sample the sauce.

Speaking of ketosis, Kipp and my sister were right: you smell bad during ketosis. I would not mind so much the offensive odor if it did not also include halitosis. I have to keep reminding myself, �better stinky than porky.� At least this is short term � there are worse things than obesity but I cannot think of worse way to die: a preventable death.

Today at the faculty meeting the Kindergarten teacher pressed again that the inauguration was ridiculous and I had to remind her that she is amused by Hollywood stars entertaining themselves in the same manner so she could not legitimately argue that lavish parties were bad, and had Kerry won she would have mortgaged her home to help him celebrate. Kerry cannot mortgage his own home; such was his ability to fund raise.

My point is, had Kerry won none of the people complaining about the current extravagance of the Inaugural festivities. I also refuse to believe the Kerry people when they say that they would not have done something similar. The idea that Theresa Heinz Kerry would refrain from being ridiculous is absurd on its face. It boils down to the fact that people are still upset their candidate lost, that�s sad that people cannot for a day or a week allow other people to enjoy their success.

6:47 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next