some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

music to be appreciated by the thirsty

January 15, 2005
I went today to the gym to pay for my gym membership so I can actually use it. I am really excited to start on Monday. I have stayed on my diet so far and done everything I am supposed to so I am sure I can get myself to the gym at five in the morning to start my day with fitness.

In other areas of this diet, I am supposed to buy these strips and urinate on them so I can tell if I am indeed burning fat or not. I weigh less so my money is on �losing weight� but I decided to check these things to see what the deal was. I went to the store and they where ten dollars so I did not get them and decided to think about it a little more before spending the cash.

I decided that these strips were a bad idea because in looking at them, they turn a color if I am losing weight or not. I cannot see color so if I did this I would be spending money to play in urine for no good reason. I need a good reason to play in urine, this is not one of them.

If I did use the strips I would have to take a picture, email it to someone who could see color and hope the person responded promptly, which I would not to a picture of something on which you peed.

Then there is the concern that it turned the wrong color. I am not ready to find out that I am pregnant! I am not ready to raise a family or any of that so I would rather delay the news of a forth-coming birth as much as possible.

Today, I noticed at the store that the candy bars that go along with my diet where on sale. They are on sale because they are disgusting. They serve as a reminder to all of us that candy is not good for you and has no place in your life. I will have to eat them, however, because I bought them. They will serve as a punishment to me for craving a granola bar.

The hardest challenge so far in my diet has been going into my second job.

The part time job is a staple of a teacher�s life, especially when you are single. Married teachers have it made if they are married to someone who got a job with their college degree.

My second job is in the �service industry� meaning that I work in fast food. It was really tough the first time I went into work not to eat anything but this last time it was easier because I have success at my back to urge me to stay away from the food that I am currently working off or would hasted my date with diabetes. I dislike needles more that I like carbohydrates. I realize there are other treatments for diabetes, but we all know I would be locked into the whole idea of needles.

One of my coworkers was amazed at my ability to do every job at the store, but I pointed out that the fast food and the low-income economic sector as a whole, works on a system of interchangeable idiots. Any one of us can screw up any of the tasks at the store. Last night was Friday, and of course was busy something special and caused me to be all over the store at once. Again, I am glad for the work, the money, and now I am glad I can get in and out without consuming anything.

Tune in later for more snark, current events and laughs at my expense.

2:19 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next