some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

whose nuts? donuts.

January 13, 2005
Today there was a meeting of people who feel they are important in our building and they had donuts. There are few things that could cause me to ruin my diet quickly and donuts are one of them. Thankfully, no one offered me a donut, but the person in charge did bring the twelve left over donuts into the lunchroom I was monitoring, plopped the box on the table and said, �If anyone wants one of these donuts, they can have one.� No one asked me, the person supervising the room, if that was okay.

There is a couple good reasons why I should have been asked and none of them are, �Spritopias is a curmudgeon.� First, he had no idea the dietary restraints of those children, I do. I had to find an alternate treat for the child with dietary constraints, which luckily I have on hand. Second, he is ignorant of the allergies of the students, as a teacher monitoring a lunchroom I am aware of that because some of the children are to young/stupid to take care of that aspect of their health and wellness. Thankfully, there were no nuts.

Teaching is so much more than standing in front of a room and being a hard ass disciplinarian. In the nine months I spend on site, I do more work than people who spend twelve months on site at a �regular� or �real� job do. The Major made a comment on how he works more than I do because he works three more months out of the year than I do (which discounts the fact that teachers work across summers preparing school years, they don�t just happen). I offered to trade him � he could even keep his paycheck. People who do not teach have no idea how intense teaching is.

Well, back to my story: so a box with enough donuts for less than half of the students in the lunchroom was plopped down on a table and I almost had a stampeded on my hands (no his, of course) when I stood up and put my hand up, causing all of the students to sit down (I have the Force and us it regularly on my students).

Upon examining the box there were not enough donuts for everyone and they were all different leaving me in a tough situation because at this point no matter what I did I looked like a jerk who was yet again disallowing the Pastor�s �generosity.� What I decided was the fairest thing to do was to cut the eleven donuts into quarter pieces and distribute them youngest girl to oldest girl, youngest boy to oldest boy so that everyone had a small shot at getting a donut they liked. Not every student wanted a piece and some did not want seconds so there was enough for each child who wanted some donut to have two or three quarters of a donut.

Really, only men are this stupid.

In case you are that stupid too, here are some pointers for a situation like this:
1. If you do not have enough to share, do not share at all.
2. Ask the caregiver before giving a child anything, and ask in a way that does not put the caregiver in the situation where they look bad if they say no.
3. Variety is something only adults can handle, if you are sharing with children make sure that every child can have what they want or that they are all getting the same thing. This fits in their construct of �fair�

3:30 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next