some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

the last p stands for �property�

January 13, 2005
Someone left a note in my guestbook that I reap what I sew. I have never heard of that, you reap what you sow. Sewing is something done with thread, needles, or sewing machines. Sowing is where a farmer goes out in a field and spills his seed on the ground hoping that is useful, later in the year you go and reap (cut down and collect) what grows as a result.

Also, it is �no holds barred� it is a colloquialism that comes from wrestling meaning that any hold is permissible. In some wrestling matches, or any combat sport, there are holds or maneuvers that are barred. Using a barred hold merits disqualification, no holds barred is usually a more primal, dirty fight.

A year and a half ago, my nemesis and I got into it. I cannot remember about what, and I would venture the guess that if you asked her she could not tell you either. However, even if we could tell you what it was it does not matter now: we have moved passed that and grown up. We may always disagree about the Monroe Doctrine, but we know better to fight it out in public.

I also learned and decided then, as I am sure she has as well, that fighting on the internet was stupid. I am a special education teacher so I am loath to repeat that someone�s comment on fighting on Diary Land was like winning in the Special Olympics, in the end you are still retarded.

I am not here to argue with people. I am not here to cause a fuss. An individual came into my guestbook three months ago to call me a faggot (I am not, my doctor assures me, a bundle of sticks) and insulted me as a teacher because I asked his friend privately via email several times to stop contacting me. Now the person who called me a bundle of sticks is telling me that I reap what I sew sow.

I have this to offer. I don�t start fights with people, I avoid that. However, if you stick your hand in my cage expect me to bite you.

3:29 PM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next