some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

hopefully by tuesday

January 13, 2005
Today I joined the YMCA near me. After researching gyms open to men, I found that the YMCA was the least expensive option available to me. I went today to sign up and take the tour. I knew from their webpage that they had what I wanted, but if you went on the tour you got passes for free workouts and that will be nice if I have a friend come visit and they want to go to the gym.

On my tour of the gym and facility, they showed me everything and perhaps more that I wanted to see. I really did not want to see the locker room first or have to walk through the showers to see the pool. I am pretty sure I saw Dick Cheney and he was not decent. I know many of you are thinking, �he�s never decent!� Take it from someone who admires the man, this was a side of him I never wanted to see.

The gym has a great variety of machines for me to hurt myself on and is also, unfortunately, the same place where our student go for after hours care. I am not thrilled about this myself but no one asked me so I just have to deal with it.

I am going to end up paying about forty dollars a month. My best friend, who I almost always listen to, said that I should just buy the exercise machine but I figured that I did not want the exercise bike sitting there to mock its disuse as it becomes a place to pile things on or hang laundry from. I do not want something heckling me every time I pass the guestroom to use the toilet. At least I cannot see the gym from my house so I will not be bothered by it at all.

Today has been accomplishment day. I have plowed through a great part of my backlogged work. Hopefully on Tuesday, I will be caught up.

11:04 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next