some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

early morning telephone call

January 12, 2005
This morning my phone woke me up, ringing with a text message. Normally, being woken irritates me as do text messages, but add to that it being five in the morning and thereby depriving me of half an hour of sleep; I was fit to be tied - it had better be good!

Thank God for the National Broadcasting Company (NBC) and their clever way of informing teachers by phone and email that there was a delay of school by two hours, I could not only crawl back in bed but I could get three extra hours of sleep. I could have kissed my computer and telephone screens.

Teachers get a lot of great gifts, mugs with candy in them, more mugs with candy in them and inspirational books on why teachers are great. The best gift you can give a teacher is TIME; that I used that time to luxuriate in bed is my folly but a folly well enjoyed.

Thank you NBC for the heads up! Thank you God for this ugly, ugly weather that has delayed my day by two hours adding extra sleep and preparation time for the day! Thank you for reading this!

Unique content available at www.spritopias.com.

9:10 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next