some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

thinking tickles

January 12, 2005
Today in class, we discussed magnetism during science and played with magnets. I have an aspiring writer in my class, she is very talented because she describes and sees the world in a unique way. Today during our time with magnets she announced, �Thinking tickles!� I replied, �That must be why you�re always giggling.� It is either her brains incessant tickling or the fact that her teacher is a giant goof.

We started two hours late today because of the snow. The special for today was music and thankfully, that was cancelled. I know the importance of music in education but it is not more important that Math, Science, Language Arts, Social Studies, Theology, or Foreign Language. My students are not getting what they need to out of music class and here is a case in point.

Not unlike Jo�s children (Jo has two kids that are absolute firecrackers) who sing Bowling For Soup�s song 1985 my students have no idea who Bruce Springsteen or Madonna are � that�s okay because when Donatella Versace was on Saturday Night Live she said Madonna had become boring after she discovered Kabala. What disturbed me was that my students do not know who Nirvana is. What, if anything, are they learning in Music Class if they are not learning about the contributions of Nirvana? They probably think The Beatles are something to be stomped on, The Rolling Stones are a driving hazard, and The Cure has something to do with Cancer. If you hear a funny noise, it is our king, Elvis. He is rolling over with Beethoven in the grave because of the inexcusable ignorance of my students concerning music.

She calls herself a teacher. Ha. Jo, your kids had better not be ignorant of Nirvana. If they are, the next time I visit you will be reaching Nirvana in one quick hurry � even if neither of us can double as a Chinese Restaurant Buddha anymore.

The surprising part of today was the amount we were able to accomplish. Some days, I am rushed to complete everything, others I cannot get through half of what I want and still others we breeze through the day. Today was a breeze day and I had to add things to the day because a Wednesday mornings are normally dominated by chapel (cancelled) and music (also cancelled) so even with the lack of two hours we still had a large amount of time with which to work.

The only annoying thing that happened today was during lunch one of my coworkers complained to me that I make more than she does. There is a reason for that, I have a specialized degree, and she does not. The way that our pay is broken down goes by years of experience, plus levels of education. I may not have as much experience as she does but I have different, more marketable education. I am more annoyed that she knows how much I make, that is none of her business. As a point of fact, after the pastors, I am the highest paid person on the staff at the church and school but I do not think I should be faulted for my education and ability to negotiate a better contract than she was able to.


Today�s events inspired this banner .

3:11 PM :: 9 comments so far ::
prev :: next