some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

give me a break, give me a break

January 08, 2005
The music teacher who was late Wednesday and unprepared for class asked me yesterday if I keep my students during my break instead of sending them to music, she did not having anything planned. I told her that I had things I needed to do during my planning period and it was not a break. I had to grade papers, clean the room, do paperwork that has to do with my other responsibilities in my school and religious order, and make copies.

During my planning period I played Sims and listened to Bowling for Soup on principle. I know the second/third grade teacher had such a day that when I passed him in his room he was just staring out the window. He has a tough group this year, which is not helped by the fact that his group from last year (half of my class this year) is fantastic.

Eventually, I will take a leave from my religious order and teach in public school again. As much as I believe in my faith and the mission of my religious order I also believe, we are limiting ourselves in how we execute our mandate. I believe in �keeping it real,� and part of that is going out into the world and being a part of it. Teaching in the public schools prepared me immeasurably for the task that is currently before me, I could not do my job as well without that experience. I detest most teachers in my order and home-school parents who deride the public schools.

Most public schools are excellent institutions staffed by excellent people doing an excellent job. Arguably, I taught in one of the worst schools in America but that does not mean that children were not learning and teachers or curriculum were some how substandard.

The music teacher irritates me because we are in New England. New England has some of the best public and parochial schools in the republic, we have to exceed the education that parents can afford their children for free from public institutions available to them. If she is showing up late with nothing planned, the children will notice, tell their parents and it will hurt our school eventually.

Today is a dreary and cold one in Connecticut. I think I will be doing my wellness plan indoors. Enjoy your weekend!

12:34 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next