some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

the day before tomorrow

January 06, 2005
Every year my parents get my classroom a present. Last year my parents used their membership points in their mall�s preferred customer plan to get them two sets of board games. They all learned how to play chess and chess became a blood sport by the end of the year. I have two grades in one room so there is a lot of discussion about games that went on last year or last month as if it is a professional sport or someone is on a chess scholarship that could be lost.

This year it is a caddy full of craft scissors from Sam�s Club and a box of different colored papers for them to make things. After my parent�s dog died this Autumn, my students made them cards to express their condolences. This year�s group is more artistic. My parents put the card with the angles carrying our dog into heaven on the fridge. It is that amazing. The terrible thing is that my Aunt died the same day and I was able to cruise through that funeral event by sapping the grief from losing the dog.

They love these scissors; they have gotten quite the workout since we started school on Monday. My room looks like we gave the President a ticker tape parade. We would but I did not donate enough money (or at all) to his campaign this time.

Tomorrow I start my diet; tonight I spent time getting ready for it. I bought a four-pound box of bacon, thirty-six eggs, vitamins, and enough salad to feed a million rabbits. I am going to rock this.

Do you know that saying that beauty is only skin deep? Yvonne had a birthday today and posted her picture. Her beauty radiates to the outside. I will call her a liar; she cannot be over forty. I want my money back. She also disproves the theory that all bloggers are troglodytes that have not seen the sun since Reagan was President.

12:23 AM :: 7 comments so far ::
prev :: next