some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

back in my day they'd pronounce him dead when they saw him tying a rope around his leg

December 27, 2004
MSNBC has Bill Nye �the Science Guy� on as their expert. I could not stand his television show and now I worry about the viewers of MSNBC if they need a goofy clown to explain tsunamis to them. How hard is it? I could have explained this one. I should be on the television. I could be a commentator because you apparently do not need anything more than a bachelor�s degree and the ability to speak in public. I do not have a BA; I have a BS. I should be able to rock their worlds with my BS.

Yesterday I made a spiral sliced ham, scalloped potatoes (from scratch), and peas (frozen) for dinner. One of my acquaintances I mentioned this to was amazed due to their general perception that I am retarded. Ham is really not something you can cook well as much as something that you can screw up. Making scalloped potatoes is an exercise in food processor and watch-a-pot-boil magic. Cooking is not hard when you are making the mess in your father�s professional grade that he will later clean.

I had an iPod related coronary this afternoon before attempting to shovel snow out of driveway. Because it was a sunny day I decided to wear my sunglasses (which are broken) and since the bathroom is the only place I go without my iPod I was getting that all revved up for the task ahead when I noticed the screen was black! You could not see the screen on the iPod! I was horrified. My iPod not working, or being unusable caused my world to come crashing around my ears. There went the soundtrack to my life! I took off my glasses to rub my eyes in frustration to learn that my sunglasses where the problem, not the iPod. Those evil, evil sunglasses! A curse upon both their houses!

Shoveling the snow turned into me hacking at the ice with a broken hoe, getting splinters and clearing very little of the ice from the drive and walkways onto the lawn. Just like the dinner I made last night the effort I made was unappreciated and roundly criticized. It is one thing to dislike something and it is another thing just to sit there and pick someone apart. Being picked apart is a big part of being home when you are the adult child of anyone.

8:35 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next