some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

back to our regularly scheduled spritopias

December 23, 2004
A woman in Washington paid fifty thousand dollars to have her dead cat cloned. I am officially condemning anyone who makes fun of iPod owners, as I am I two of them, if you can also clone your dead pet. Another absurdity found on the news was people in Britain are giving gift certificates for plastic surgery. Nothing would say, �I love you,� quite as loud as, �you need new boobies� or �your nose is too big.� I guess if the person wanted it, but if we loved them, we would overlook it.

Today Dad and I decorated the house for my mother, as she had to work. We did it wrong in that we did not put anything in the correct places, but we did it right in that we definitely unpacked everything and put it out. Mom has a set plan of what goes where, for everything.

Yesterday, it started snowing, sleeting, raining, and no one bothered to plow or salt. This weather continued all day, into this morning. I went into work with my sister in another, last ditch, attempt to get Christmas presents with my mother. We another run of dry luck and today the snow had turned into a sheet of ice. I am not going into it and I did something tacky. Mom was going into work anyway, so I gave her money and she is going to get my last minute presents. Luckily, I had her gifts done.

Last night Mom and I did a comical job of shoveling the snow; Dad and I did more shoveling this morning. Snow is not so bad, it is heavy and cold, but snow covered in ice is more of a pain. You have to hack at it with a hoe or other garden tool to break it up while someone else goes behind and moves the sleet out of the way.

Far too much focus is put onto presents, but I enjoy getting them. I wish we could move away from the materialism and enjoy holidays the way they were supposed to be, or used to be celebrated.

I remember when I was little we would light candles and read verses from scripture or inspirational stories that had a link, somehow, to Christmas. Everyone works now and we do not have time to do this as a family as we once did. This is something that we now do on our own.

I need to do some more work, and by work, I mean, �watch television.�

3:59 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next