some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

And his heart grew two sizes that day�

December 01, 2004
Today starts the twenty-five days of Kitschmas.

It is Kitschmas so we are all getting uber sappy here in the Blogosphere. Today one of the students in my class almost made me cry.

I have a brother and sister in my class and a set of brothers. This happens when you teach two grades in tandem. The brother and the sister go back and forth about things so there is equality in their unkindness toward each other. I do not like the nastiness they show each other but I do appreciate the fact that they are siblings and they are going to occasionally bicker. The set of brothers have a different, one sided dynamic. The old brother is very cruel to his little brother and it makes me sick. The little brother is the nicest

Today in class we had a discussion that if you had a sibling or cousin in the school, and they had something personal to share with the school that the sibling or cousin would share it themselves and it was not the business of the other students if they person who owned the information did not want to share it.

The older brother disclosed to my class today that the little brother has a bed-wetting problem. At which point the little brother started crying, obviously humiliated. I threw the older brother out of my class and into the principal�s class. The principal stepped into the hallway with me and asked what he had done, and we both said, �I�ll kill him.�

His parents do a great job with him. He is a great kid most of the time, when he is bad he is worse than anyone. I felt so bad for the little brother, to be sold out like that by your own brother and to cry in front of your class are two fates worse than death.

I hate it when I have to compose myself for them so I can straighten them out.

11:18 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next