some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

a title would give the impression I wrote something worth reading (and other myths about this posting)

November 20, 2004
Yesterday one of the people I work with at my second job got in trouble, big trouble. I was in trouble too. The trouble that I found myself in was that this person does their job wrong all the time and I cover for them by fixing their mistakes. I am not doing this for the person, but for me. His mistakes my life harder; I fix them for him.

Last night this person got caught doing things wrong and it was like throwing rice into the back of a fan � easier to clean up than other things being thrown into a fan but far more pain when it is happening. Rice in a fan really is not that big a deal.

One of the problems of being flagrantly incompetent is that you do not realize that you are as bad at your job as you are, most times you assume you are good at your job. Everyone else can see that you are on fire but you are wondering where the smoke is coming from.

He assumed that since he assumes he is good at his job that someone must have made it up that he done things wrong, it must have been me since I am always redoing his work. Man alive, did the fur fly! He called me every name he could think of, namely the things he calls his wife when she throws him out of the house � according to sources.

If you are wondering laughing and taunting are not the appropriate responses, keeping this up when they offer to fight you in the parking lot after work. I felt like I was I in a bad remake of a show about the fifties. I do not fight people because I am not a crazy liberal prone to violently reacting to people who differ in opinion from myself, there is practical reasoning too: I would lose my license to practice my profession if I were arrested for anything.

The teaching job would not provide us with chalk if they thought they could get away with it. The part time job feeds us and for the holidays has given us a frozen turkey. The part time job also pays better than teaching but I enjoy my profession so I will not leave it for money (yet).

So, we now each have a frozen turkey and I am too cheap to not take something like that (it would also be rude to leave it). Some of us are not sure what we are going to do with it. The incompetent I talked of earlier wanted to give it to the homeless man who lives in our bathroom, until I challenged him on what he is going to do with a frozen turkey. Was he going to ride around town with the turkey in the basket of his bike? Was he going to use it as a pillow until June when it would thaw out and he could cook it on the blacktop?

That would be like giving the homeless man a bed, he doesn�t have one but really because he has no place to put one.

My turkey will probably fester in my freezer until after the new year when I come home from my parent�s house or maybe I could bring it there. I wonder if I can drive across America with a frozen turkey or not.

12:06 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next