some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

where in God's name do you buy pants?

November 17, 2004
A building on my block is on fire, when that happens thirty minutes before you want to wake up it takes a while for your compassionate conservatism to kick in. I have a hard time feeling sorry for someone when I am woken up a little to early because of unnecessary noises.

The one time that the civil defense hubbub was for this building, I slept through it. Someone had left the doors open during a snowstorm, leaving the building susceptible to squatters. I am not opposed to that as they were in a different part of the building and because of the way the doors lock and do not lock in this maze of a church, I was safe. I would rather people sleep in the lobby of the church than freeze to death and if I were not paranoid of being killed in my sleep I might let them in my apartment since I have a bathroom and food. That would have been compassionate, but I decided to live to see another day to be compassionate another way.

The police and fire department came when someone pulled the fire alarm and it became apparent that the building had become a hobo scavenger hunt. The cruel irony is that had someone burned to death in our building it would have been a tragedy in the eyes of the press/media, had they frozen on our door step they would have been a statistic.

Before you bust my chops for not caring enough, we are across the street from three shelters and during the storms, they let anyone in, all night long. I could go sleep there and since I miss hearing someone snore, I just might.

Also, last night a person who contributes to the school came into my second job and remarked how bad they feel that they cannot give more to the school so I would not have to work at a second job. He said, �Why do you work here anyway?� It is a good question, I do not have to work I just want to because I enjoy being extravagant and being ridiculous at Christmas. I told him, �I have to subsidize my illegitimate children and my drug habit.� That made him laugh, and laugh hard, Thank God and praise Allah that my boss did not get the joke as per his misunderstanding of English.

To the young man who sent me an unsolicited naked picture of himself: while I appreciate the sentiment, I do not appreciate nudity in art. Thank you for your picture, however, I understand you were just trying to bring my �spirits� up but it was really not necessary. I do have one question, where in God�s name do you buy pants?

Yes, I deleted the picture, email, and will not tell you who sent this � so do not ask Kipp. I opened the e-mail unaware of what it was or who sent it.

7:04 AM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next