some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

in itself a redundant contradiction

November 16, 2004
I am leaving this in someone�s guest book, as per the community standard at Diary Land; I do not use people�s comments as a soapbox to promote my diary or my agenda. However, this person has ignored the bright line between diary and blog, I can no longer remain silent on this issue � especially as it is one that this person and I have discussed and come to an understanding about.

My agenda at Diary Land is incredibly simple. I write about my day, my life, and my views to get them out of my head and into print. Once into print the things that trouble me or bounce around my mind are constrained into linguistics; and tend to stop causing me angst.

This is not where I come to debate, parse issues, or engage in the parlance of popular partisanship with other people. I do that at my blog, which you can feel free to visit at your leisure or not ( www.spritopias.com).

I get a lot out of Diary Land. First, and foremost, I release a great deal here. I am able to articulate, for an audience, my experiences, and perspectives. I also get a window into the minds of some fascinating characters and personalities. Some days I do not believe that people are this dynamic, funny, strong, interesting, compassionate, stupid, crass, unfeeling, or so beautifully human. I have also met a fair amount of interesting people that I would not have met otherwise.

However, this is my soapbox. This is where I stand in Hyde Park: in my tweed suit, shouting to the world, what I think and feel. People gather around, some stay to listen, some toss me some snark, and move on, but it is always my soapbox. Andrew, God Bless him, has graciously provided everyone with a free soapbox to share what they think and feel. I appreciate every last reader, and most people who comment but this is my forum. This is not your forum to spew hate, lies, and bigotry. This is not your place to promote yourself.

This is what I posted, because I am sure the person I posted it to will come back to haunt me:


I do not agree with you about Dr. Rice or anything really, and as per your request, I do NOT use your diary feedback as a soapbox or a forum for the two of us to argue. Indeed, I think you will notice that most of your comments go unanswered. I find it strange that we came to an understanding that my feedback options were not for you to rumor monger, use fowl language or promote your own diary. I have a blog where I post debatable content; I also have a diary where I post my diary entries. I find it funny that you would spew your hate into my diary when in my unguarded moments I have the same opinion of you that you have of Dr. Rice. You are free to read my diary; I am powerless to stop it. You are free to read my blog, and comment away there as well, that is the acceptable forum for such discussion, however, I do ask that you stop using my diary to promote your lies, hate, and personal diary.


I am not here to promote anyone or anything, I write, and for some reason, people read it. Before you attack me for being closed-minded, and as you have appointed yourself judge, jury and executioner of diary land I have seen you do that to others: I am a member of several real life discussion groups where I discuss everything under the sun with a diverse group of well-read liberals, conservatives and moderates. I am trained in formal British debate (in itself a redundant contradiction), and I limit myself to debating companions who know the polite rules of discourse and disagreement. I have not sought you, or anyone at Diary Land, out for this because it is not why I am here. I debate in other forums.

I would have emailed you as per your request, but you since you refuse to oblige mine I found this to be more apropos. I also did not intend to come in here and hurt your feelings, be a jerk, or sully your feedback section but your lack of courtesy has been incredibly egregious.

If you are wondering, yes I do speak like this. The Princess can verify for the world that I am this pompous in person, and often worse.

9:18 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next